Governance & Staff

A diversity of perspectives to chart our future.

The Mandela Rhodes Foundation is governed and run by people who are deeply invested in seeing our vision of building exceptional leadership capacity in Africa realised.

We are governed by an independent board of high-profile Trustees, who give their time on a voluntary basis. We are run by a small and very committed staff team. The Foundation’s staff and trustees come from a range of generations, disciplines, nationalities and backgrounds, and our strength is in how we bring our diversity to bear on our common purpose.

The Foundation’s governance structures include four additional committees that meet quarterly. These are the Finance, Risk and Audit Committee, the Executive Committee, the Remuneration Committee, and the Investment Committee, which are made up of independent outsiders, Trustees and management

Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees is made up of equal numbers of Mandela nominees and Rhodes Trust nominees.The Board of Trustees meets annually, either at Rhodes House in Oxford, or in Cape Town.

Prof Njabulo Ndebele(Chair)

Mandela Nominee

Learn more →


Julia Brown

HR & Executive Assistant

Ernst Gerber

Operations Director

Gigi Edross-Jeppie

Executive Assistant and Operations Manager

Abigail McDougall

Communications and Alumni Relations Manager

Joseph Maisels

Alumni Relations Associate

Shivon Philand

Accountant and Building Manager

Ayanda Radebe

Communications Officer


Executive committee

Professor NS Ndebele (Chair), Mr Julian Ogilvie Thompson, Dr Elizabeth Kiss, Ms Judy Sikuza (CEO)

Finance Committee

Mr Mustaq Brey (Chair), Mr Tim Cumming, Mr Julian Ogilvie Thompson, Mr Nkazi Sokhulu (South Africa & the University of Cape Town, 2006)

Investment Committee

Mr Tim Cumming (Chair), Mr Julian Ogilvie Thompson, Mr Jacques Condradie (South Africa & Stellenbosch University, 2005), Ms Judy Sikuza (CEO),

Remuneration Committee

Mr Julian Ogilvie Thompson (Chair), Professor NS Ndebele, Mr Mustaq Brey

Reports & Policies

Recent yearbooks